Bregan D’aerthe and the Fantasy Stories that I enjoy to read and write.

I  like reading about organizations, particularly criminal organizations. My background is in sociology and the law, and I guess there is where I developed an interest in organizations.

I also like reading fantasy.

In fantasy novels I have read, there are not too many criminal organizations featured or mentioned. J.V. Jones’ A Sword of Shadow Series features in a mysterious espionage-type of organization of rangers called the Phage which I would like to read more about.

I’m sure there are many types of criminal and espionage organizations featured in urban fantasy stories, but I don’t read urban fantasy.

In epic fantasy, I have read about mercenaries and mercenary companies. The Golden Company featured in A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin. The Northmen featured in Joe Abercrombie’s First Law books. The Black Ajah in the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan and completed by Brandon Sanderson.

I have also enjoyed reading about the Corleone Family in the Godfather novels, Professor Moriarty and his organization in the Moriarty novels written by John Gardner, and the Union in the Union Trilogy in the James Bond novels written by Raymond Benson.

I would like to read more about the Black Sun in the Star Wars novels.

The closest  I have come to reading about this idea in a fantasy novel or fantasy series is the character of Jarlaxle and his Bregan D’aerthe orginization in the Drizzt novels written by R.A. Salvatore.

Bregan D’aerthe is a mercenary company comprised primarily of male drow elves that are involved in criminal and shady commercial activities both in the Underark and other areas that are part of the Forgotten Realms.

R.A. Salvatore wrote A Servant of the Shard which featured Jarlaxle and Bregan D’aerthe, but not Drizzt,and I think this novel is the best of all of R.A. Salvatore’s Forgotten Realm novels.  This Forgotten Realm novel by R.A. Salvatore is only one of three that does not feature Drizzt.

I think there could be a demand for the certain type of readers that enjoy Salvatore’s work who would be interested in reading more stories set in the Forgotten Realms setting that feature Bregan D’aerthe and its members. The stories do not have to be full-length novels, but shorter pieces of works and along the same lines as A Servant of the Shard.

I also reading stories about process, and I can understand why other readers may find this type of story boring because there is not too much action, great deal of dialogue, and all the characters are involved in political maneuvering or machinations.  No one does this better than George R.R. Martin.

The first two books in the Professor Moriarty series by John Gardner, Return of Moriarty and Revenge of Moriarty, are good examples of novels featuring process in relation to criminal organizations.

One of the primary reasons why I wrote Hondus Pointe and Nestor deNeffo is because of my interest in criminal and espionage organizations featured in fantasy stories.  My next story, Crepier, features characters that are part of a criminal organization.

Thanks for reading.

Until next time,

R.D. Henderson

Comments Off on Bregan D’aerthe and the Fantasy Stories that I enjoy to read and write.

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.